The Wossidlo-House

The Wossidlo-Museum in Walkendorf - photo: © Maibritt Olsen
photo: © Maibritt Olsen

Richard Wossidlo in Walkendorf

The great folklorist Richard Wossidlo was born in 1859 in the local district Friedrichshof of the municipality  Walkendorf and baptized in the local church. He is considered the founder of Mecklenburg´s Folklore and accomplished something significant for European Ethnology.

Folk culture and Folk language

Richard Wossidlo gathered folk culture and folk language in all its facettes. His methods of collecting data were field research, distanced interviews and correspondence methods. Already then he as gatherer and scholar built a perfect network with around 1.400 contributors all over Mecklenburg, to  let the ensuing ages know als much as possible about the “ways of living of the people”.

His compilation was arranged in proper order  in about accessible 27.000 categories at the famous slip wall. Spread these texts written by himself amount in a dimension of about 2,5 football pitches!

Folklorists of Mecklenburg

The great folkorist of Mecklenburg has gathered a comprehensiv linguistic, literary and objective cultural heritage, that stands for the culture of our country and is part of our “roots”.  Full particulars on biography, complete works and place of birth of Richard Wossidlo the small Wossidlo-Museum in Walkendorf presents to its visitors.

And also the House of the guest in Waren/Müritz informs about the “collecting high-school professor“. The Museum Schwerin/Mueß exists because of the material collection Wossidlos. The Richard-Wossidlo-Archive is available for researche works by University of Rostock.

Das Wossidlo-Haus

Das Wossidlo-Museum in Walkendorf - Foto: © Maibritt Olsen
Das Foto: © Maibritt Olsen

Richard Wossidlo in Walkendorf

Der große Volkskundler Richard Wossidlo wurde im Ortsteil Friedrichshof der Gemeinde Walkendorf 1859 geboren und in der hiesigen Kirche getauft. Er gilt als der Begründer der Mecklenburgischen Volkskunde und leistete Bedeutendes für die Europäische Ethnologie.

Volkskultur und Volkssprache

Richard Wossidlo erfasste Volkskultur und Volkssprache in all ihren Facetten. Seine Erhebungsmethoden waren Feldforschung, Fernbefragung und Korrespondenzverfahren. Schon damals baute er als Sammler und Gelehrter mit ca. 1.400 Beiträgern ein perfektes Netzwerk über ganz Mecklenburg auf, um über die „Lebensweise des Volkes“ so viel wie möglich der Nachwelt überlassen zu können.

Sein Sammelgut wurde in der berühmten Zettelwand unter ca. 27.000 zugriffsbereiten Kategorien wohlgeordnet. Ausgebreitet ergeben diese eigenhändigbeschriebenen Texte eine Flächengröße von ungefähr 2,5 Fußballfeldern!

Volkskundler Mecklenburgs

Der größte Volkskundler Mecklenburgs hat ein umfangreiches sprachliches, literarisches und sachgegenständliches Kulturerbe zusammengetragen, das für die Kultur unseres Landes steht und Teil unserer „Wurzeln“ ist. Näheres zu Biographie, Gesamtwerk und Geburtsort von Richard Wossidlo hat das kleine Wossidlo-Museum in Walkendorf für den Besucher präsent.

Aber auch das Haus des Gastes in Waren/Müritz informiert über den „sammelnden Gymnasialprofessor“. Das Museum Schwerin/Mueß entstand aus der materiellen Sammlung Wossodlos. Für die Forschungstätigkeit steht das Richard Wossidlo-Archiv der Universität Rostock bereit.